Browse / Ideas / FAQs / About
Compare the size of countries, regions and cities

Moon is 2.22 times as big as Russia


The moon has a diameter of 1737 km and a surface area of 37.9 million sq km. The surface area is double the size of Russia or South America.


Russia, or the Russian Federation, is a transcontinental country located in Eastern Europe and Northern Asia. It extends from the Baltic Sea in the west to the Pacific Ocean in the east, and from the Arctic Ocean in the north to the Black Sea and the Caspian Sea in the south. Russia, the largest country by area, covers over 17,125,200 square kilometres (6,612,100 sq mi), spanning more than one-eighth of the Earth's inhabited land area, stretching eleven time zones, and bordering 16 sovereign nations.